While the title of this post sounds like a pre-school article (which is deliberate!) I actually want to tell you (brag…!) about a very cool new art toy I treated myself to.

 

I've wanted some gelatos since the first time I saw them – pastels that are creamy and water soluble? Sign me up!!

 

But I had plenty of paint and even watercolours, so I was a good girl and turned away – sad, but vaguely virtuous.

 

And then in April, Shari Carroll made a page for her Art Journal series with Simon Says Stamp and I wanted them soooo bad… But I was packing up my home studio to make a room for Baby Girl so again, I turned away – desperately dreaming of them and eventually, unable to stop thinking about them!!

 

And then… I couldn't stop thinking about art journal pages, and the fact that – with all my studio packed away – it would be nice to have a small versatile product to hand, to make and create when the urge just gets too much (like when I'm ground down from seemingly endless days with a newborn…) – and wouldn't gelatos fit that bill very nicely… being small, versatile, and painty…?!

 

So I looked at prices and colour collections (and the utterly fabulous complete gift set…!) and decided to get the special edition 50's diner palette – because I can see my magpie eye falling on that gift set in the future and I didn't want to double up colours.

 

 

(image courtesy of google and iheartartblog.com)

 

They arrived today, and I had a pleasant little play in my art journal – once again, cursing the fallibility of the moleskine I use, because although it is the sketch book version – it can't take water on a page to save its life…

(see and ignore the damage inside the yellow circle…!)

 

So I gessoed the bottom half of my test page and made some nicer discoveries – that gesso as a background lets one blend that creamy colour with the heat of a finger tip, rather than needing any water (although I could imagine that some cool things could be achieved with the precision of a water brush…) so I am a happy, happy artist – and look forward to many hours and pages with my newest toy – while I resist the lure of buying all the colours!!

 

 

 

 

