Hello, friends… it's been a long time…

 

I promise, I was honestly trying to go digital… I was honestly trying to do Project Life from a (computer) screen…

 

It didn't work out – for me.

 

It transpires, that my memory keeping is focused on the physical bits and bobs that life collects – the ticket stubs and flyers, the food wrappers and postal mail that accumulates. And when it's written down in black text, it does seem a little odd to be keeping what Scientist Guy would refer to as “rubbish”, but… for me, keeping a memory record of my life, centres around these little bits, these proof of daily events.

 

Some of them, I keep for design ideas; for colour schemes; for comedy thoughts… Some of them, directly represent the event or memory I wish to record.

 

All of this means that to make my memory record digital, even though I know I could take a photo of the ephemera; I felt it lost the spirit, the meat, the essence of my memories.

 

A very nice lady in America designed and produces an amazing pocket system for memory keeping. Called Project Life, the core products are a 12 x 12″ binder and a packet of pocket pages. Then one can go to town, customising their own collection of pockets and extras.

 

I've been using this system this for 3 years now, and 2013 is the first year I feel like I've not got behind – because I made a real effort from the very first week, and thus a good habit was born, a habit that feels natural, a habit that is easy to maintain…

 

So, while I can see that someone else may get along with something like Evernote for the iPad as their memory keeping system, it didn't work for me.

 

However, due to impending Baby Girl, I have packed up my beloved (and often abused) home studio. I now have a shoebox from which to maintain my Project Life – but as that (for me) involves printing out photographs and tucking detritus into pockets, I can't see that I'm going to have a problem for the rest of this year!!

 

Good luck with your own digital adventures : )

 

 

