Does a magazine's cover ever encourage you to buy certain issues (that you were holding out against)?

 

Mollie Makes, a favourite publication of mine; launched a new title called The Simple Things – a charming collection of lifestyle articles. As their tag line says – “eating, growing, sharing, making, living, escaping”…

 

And I furiously resisted buying a copy because : I shouldn't be spending money on them right now, I like trees, I don't have the shelf space, the internet is constantly updating and opens discussion of content longevity. But issue 7 (March) just looked so appealing – soft blues, wooden utensils and EGGS! – that I gave in to temptation, resistance was futile and purchase was inevitable.

 

I'm so glad that I did…

 

I have previously read a free digital sample on 'a popular tablet device' and knew what to expect inside but (for me…) nothing beats the pleasure of holding paper in my hands and physically turning a page. The difference in reading experience was staggering. I've had this issue for two weeks and must have flipped through it every other day – at least! I'm still seeing new things in the pages (interpretation) and finding inspiration from its content. I've copied a quote from it into my Project Life album (that randomly tickled me and it keeps making me smile whenever I recall it) and I'm trying to decide what my simple thing might be…

 

curled up in an armchair reading a book

was my old standard (before the Boy)… But now, I'm torn between

Monkey Boy's smile and bugled “Hi, mama!” when he sees me after a period of absence – which is sometimes only three minutes because he's a funny cutie, that way!

Or the smell of my baking – because the pride and pleasure it brings me is a simple but important tiny (victory) in this Mama's busy life : )

 

What is your simple thing today? How long has it been since you took a moment to consider one…?

 

 

 

