(please excuse the horrible photography… it was night, and I was in a hurry…)

 

 

 

I make things. I spend a lot of time looking at pretty things on the interwebs. So I’m quite aware of current trends in papercrafting.

 

When Scientist Guy asked me (tonight) if I could make a card (for tomorrow), I knew instantly what I wanted to do. So off I set to my lovely room of wonder, to find my heat gun – that had mysteriously toddled off (cough cough… shoved in a silly place… cough cough) – without which I couldn’t make my intended design.

 

Huzzah! One heat gun.

 

So I made a quick ombré panel using watercolour pencils, roughly scribbled on a piece of thin card and blended at the intersections. I dried the water off with a heat gun, and drew cut lines just inside the actual edge of the panel – to neaten things up.

 

 

 

I did not measure this, but if you wanted to, remember that trimming the messy edges will reduce the size of the finished panel – so take this into account. One way to combat this is to lightly draw an outline of your finished size on a larger piece before you start and take your colour beyond this perimeter, so that when you neaten up you won’t loose any of the panel.

 

Next I stamped Hero Arts scribble background in a nice wet ink, and heat embossed with white powder. My panel was just bigger than the actual stamp size so I stamped it top and bottom, embossing one side then the other.

 

 

 

Then I fixed it to a white card blank. I didn’t like it flat or with all straight edges. Thankfully, I’d used removable roll-on glue so it peeled up like a dream! The Corner Chomper took care of rounding things for me, and I put the panel back down with foam tape. Much better : )

 

Some letter stickers from a Studio Calico set made a nice looking sentiment (I tried out Congrats, first; and it just didn’t look right – something to do with the shape of the word, I think…) and some doodling in fine line pen finished it off.

 

 

I’m going to enter it in some blog challenges : )

 

And bask in the fact that it only took about an hour to make!!

 

